ABSENT

BETH DRUEKE Presiding Chairman	x	
CYNTHIA NOLAN Vice Chairman	x	
TODD BOETTCHER Treasurer	x	
PERRY DEKAY Secretary		х
JIM BERNT Member	х	
CINDY SCHROETLIN Member	x	
MICHAEL BROWN Superintendent	x	

PRESENT

The Board of Education of School District 08-0051 met in Regular Session on Monday, January 13, 2020. The roll was called by Chairperson Drueke at 5:00 p.m. with members Drueke, Boettcher, Nolan, Schroetlin & Bernt present. DeKay absent. Superintendent Brown present. This meeting is being conducted in compliance with the NE Open Meetings Law 87.107 to 84.114. A copy of this law is posted in the meeting room.

Schroetlin moved, "To elect Beth Drueke Board President, Cindy Nolan Vice President, Perry DeKay Secretary, and Todd Boettcher as Treasurer," seconded by Nolan. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Absent-1-DeKay. Carried 5-0-1.

Committee Assignments:

Transportation/Facilities: Perry DeKay, Cindy Nolan, & James Bernt

Budget: Beth Drueke, Perry DeKay, & Todd Boettcher Policy: James Bernt, Todd Boettcher, & Cindy Schroetlin

Administrative Review: Beth Drueke, Cindy Nolan, & Cindy Schroetlin

Negotiations: Cindy Schroetlin, Beth Drueke, & Cindy Nolan

Curriculum/Americanization/Staff Relations: Cindy Schroetlin, Perry DeKay, & James Bernt

DeKay arrived at 5:03 P.M.

Schroetlin moved, "That the agenda for this meeting, all items of which were placed on it at least 24 hours prior to the meeting time, as provided by statute, be accepted as presented," seconded by Bernt. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Minutes of the December 9, 2019, regular were read. Boettcher moved "To approve the minutes," seconded by Nolan. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Schroetlin moved, "To approve the financial reports (Activity Fund, Hot Lunch Fund, Financial Summary CDs, ICS, Depreciation Fund, Revenue Summary Sheet, QCPUF, Special Building, Employee Benefit, and CICF) of the Boyd County School district 08-0051," seconded by DeKay. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Bernt moved "To approve the bills, claims, and transfers as presented for Boyd County School district 08-0051 on the General Fund, Activities Fund and School Lunch Fund in the amount of \$66,168.96," seconded by DeKay. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Principal Johnson reported on: 1) Christmas Programs; 2) Engaging speaker; 3) Winter Workshop; and 4) Break-out sessions options.

Principal Shoff reported on: 1) Staff In-service; 2) Speaker: Demoyne Adams; 3) Curriculum: Social Studies; & 4) Curriculum, Instruction, Assessment, Professional Dev. & Americanism Team.

Superintendent Brown reported on: 1) Spencer Building Roof repairs; 2) Audits; 3) ESEA/ESSA Monitoring Visit; 4) Vehicle Bids; & 5) Spencer boiler and water heater maintenance.

Schroetlin moved, "To approve Butte State Bank, Farmers State Bank, Nebraska State Bank of Bristow, and Nebraska State Bank of Lynch as depositories for the District" seconded by Boettcher. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Abstain-1-DeKay. Carried 5-0-1.

DeKay moved, "To approve KSB School Law and Perry, Guthery, Haase & Gessford law firms as authorized to provide the district with with legal counsel" seconded by Nolan. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Nolan moved, "To designate the Spencer Advocate and / or Butte Gazette as the District Newspaper of Record" seconded by Boettcher. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

DeKay moved, "To approve the proposed 2020-2021 School Calendar" seconded by Schroetlin. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:48 p.m. by Chairperson Drueke.

The agenda shall be available during normal business hours on the first Monday of the month. The next regular meeting will be held at 6:00 p.m., February 10, 2020. The meeting will be held at Spencer facility. Everyone is invited to attend.

Perry DeKay